My mom would always cook an all-red meal, we’d eat by candlelight, and she’d play fancy music. She would even set a little box of chocolates on everyone’s plate. It was the best and some of my fondest memories from our time spent as a family revolve around that special meal. I now live far away from extended family, but that doesn’t stop me from keeping this cherished tradition alive! It’s a must for my little family, and I thought I’d share some ideas on how to make it special for everyone. Maybe you’re spending it with grandparents, friends, your own little family, or maybe it’s just the two of you… Whatever the circumstance, I hope that you’re able to feel loved and show love! I think it’s safe to say that I love LOVE!

An Indoor Picnic? Why Not!

When making something fun and exciting for your family, you often need to just switch things up a little. A picnic is the perfect way to do it! Buuuut in February, it tends to be just a bit chilly, so staying indoors is definitely where I want to be. I thought of all the places we could have a picnic: it would be so cozy by the couch with lots of pillows, or in front of our fireplace, but in the end, I stuck to my kitchen because messes would be easiest to clean up. I set to work, shoved our dining table aside and made a fun picnic right on the kitchen floor.

On the Menu

I didn’t want anything too fussy, so I went with a simple charcuterie board. I didn’t use any fancy cheese, just cheddar and white cheddar (because I already had those in my fridge) and meats I knew my family loved. Sprinkle in a few nuts, add some crackers and jelly, and you’re good to go. I made a little hummus platter, which was also perfect for dipping the veggies in. I wanted some fresh fruit but also a little chocolate, so I put some raspberries with a chocolate chip inside on the plate as well as other sweet fruits. I was able to chop everything up the night before and plated it the next day. Easy peasy. Plus, my kids inhaled everything because it looked a little different than how I usually serve it! See? Switching things up is a good thing!

How to Decorate

First, choose two colors and go with those. I went with pink and gold for a little glam action, but you could do classic red and white, black and red, pink and teal (that’s a fun combo!), or even add some plum-color into the mix. If you don’t have a picnic blanket, have no fear. I used some Turkish towels that would wash easily in case anything spilled on them. See? I’m all about convenience!

Set the Mood

Valentine’s Day is all about ambiance, but with an active family, I didn’t want to have to put out any house fires! I turned to battery-operated tea lights and candles as well as fairy lights. Ever heard of them? They’re so dainty and add a touch of sparkle! Flowers and live greenery also help set the mood. I picked up a couple bouquets from my local grocery store, arranged them myself, and added them to a white canister I already had. Roses are traditional, but it’d be fun to use tulips, carnations, or even daisies.

Entertainment

We love games, and Spot It and Skip-Bo are two of our favorites that all of us can play! Other games we love are: Yahtzee, Skull King, Uno, Farkle, and Phase 10. Whatever you decide to do, I hope this helps you create a memorable night in with your family. I would really love to hear about your Valentine’s Day traditions and how you make it a special day for everyone.