Alligator Jaw Pastry

Alligator Jaws were my #1 favorite pastry when I was growing up. Hands down. In the small town where we grew up, there was an amazing little bakery just off of Main Street called Ron & Chris Bakery. We all loved going there for donuts, cookies, and freshly made sandwiches. Their cherry chocolate chip cookies, ribbon sandwiches, and strawberry cream cheese croissants were among our favorites, but the alligator jaw pastry was the absolute best!

What Are Alligator Jaws?

What are Alligator Jaws exactly? Allow me to enlighten you. An Alligator Jaw is a triangle-shaped glazed pastry filled with a delicious cherry buttercream frosting. They are heavenly (super-rich, but heavenly all the same).  From looking at the photo, it’s probably clear how it got its name. I can almost imagine the jaws snapping!

A Childhood Favorite

A few years ago I went to Cedar City, my hometown, with my heart set on getting an Alligator Jaw Pastry for old-times sake. To my dismay, the bakery was no longer open. I almost cried. Ok, I may have actually cried. The more I have looked, the more I discovered that Alligator Jaws are one of those things that everyone in Cedar City knows about, but very few people outside of Cedar have even heard of. It is the same with Ribbon Sandwiches. Who knew Cedar City had so many tasty foods that no one else has heard of?

Creating the Alligator Jaw

That being said, there is no recipe to be found anywhere out there for Alligator Jaws. UNTIL NOW! I couldn’t go one more day without having an Alligator Jaw so I came up with my own recipe. Lucky for me, it tastes just like the original. To all my friends in Cedar City, here is our recipe for Alligator Jaws. Trust me, they taste just like the Ron & Chris Bakery original. I know there is a grocery store in Cedar City that sells them, but these are better! To everyone else outside of Cedar City who has never heard of an Alligator Jaw pastry before, you are in luck! You don’t have to go on any longer wondering what an Alligator Jaw is or what it tastes like. You can try it out for yourself!  Can you tell how excited I am about this recipe? Not only do I love how delicious they are, but I also love the great memories they bring back from when I was a kid. I’m glad I can now share them with my family. This one is for you, Abby.

More Pastry Recipes to Try:

Pumpkin PastiesThe Very Best Lemon BarsRaspberry Oatmeal BarsBlueberry Coffee CakesDanish PastriesPumpkin SconesMini Fruit Tarts

Share It on Instagram!