Basil and Sweet Pea Soup

I can’t remember how many times I begged my mom to make this for me as a kid. Now as an adult, I make it up all the time for myself for lunches, the leftovers store and re-heat easily in the fridge and the best part is that you use milk, not cream, and so it is also very calorie friendly! I have to admit though, I love eating this with saltine crackers crumbled all over the top! This soup pairs great with some sourdough bread or a sandwich.

Start with the Basics

For those of you that are fairly new to cooking, this is a great recipe to learn how to do roux, which is basically a base for making all kinds of creamy soups. For this recipe you melt together flour and butter and gradually add milk and some salt. This gives you your basic roux base. From hear you can make all types of soups. Add broccoli and cheese for a creamy broccoli soup, add corn and potatoes for a corn chowder, and for this particular soup you add sweet peas and basil. Read Next: Easy Lunch Ideas

Something With Your Soup

Soup and sandwich, or soup and salad — both sound like excellent options for lunch or dinner. Here are some yummy sandwiches and salads you can pair with our delicious Sweet Pea Soup. Or just add a slice of bread. You can’t go wrong with all the flavor this has to offer.

Turkey Over Italy Turkey Sandwich

Steak Salad

Nuts About Berries Salad

Turkey Bacon Avocado Panini Sandwich

Share It on Instagram!