Buffalo Chicken Salad

This Buffalo Chicken Salad is one of my favorite dishes to make at home for lunch! It tastes just like those fancy salads you get at a restaurant, but for a fraction of the cost, and it’s super simple to make. I can’t think of how many times I forget to eat lunch on a busy day or when I nibble at my kids’ leftover sandwich crusts instead of enjoying an actual lunch. This salad is so easy to throw together, especially if you bake the chicken ahead of time! It’s time to get into all that self-care everyone is talking about and fuel your body with something delicious and good for you!

Tips for a Healthy Buffalo Chicken Salad

Bake the chicken! Baking rather than frying will give you yummy flavor with much less fat. Just cover some chicken breasts with my favorite Frank’s Buffalo Sauce and bake for about 25 minutes and you’re done!Really pile this salad high with veggies. I love slicing creamy avocado over the top and adding a handful of corn kernels for a sweet crunch. You could also add shredded carrots, broccoli, spinach leaves, red bell peppers, red onions, just about any vegetable you have on hand in your fridge.Add hard boiled eggs. Slice a hard boiled egg over the top of this Buffalo Chicken Salad for extra protein and flavor.Opt for low fat cheese. I like to add a handful of low fat shredded cheddar or some blue cheese crumbles. You could leave out the cheese altogether if you really want to keep this on the lighter side.Finally, try a low cal dressing. There are tons of delicious options out there. I like a low cal Ranch or Blue Cheese dressing for this salad.

More Uses for Spicy Baked Chicken

You can bake a huge batch of this buffalo chicken and freeze it to use later. I usually double or triple the amount of chicken I bake, then store it in Ziploc bags in the freezer. It’s so delicious on top of pizza, salad, tacos, nachos, or just plain with a baked potato and green salad. The chicken breasts will store nicely in the freezer for up to two months. To reheat just microwave or allow them to thaw in the refrigerator before heating.

Salads, Sides and More

Looking for more recipes like this one? Try some of my filling favorites:

Boneless Buffalo WingsBuffalo Chicken DipBBQ Chicken SaladPulled Pork NachosSteak SaladGrilled Shrimp Salad with Cilantro Verde Dressing

How to Make Buffalo Chicken Salad

Share It on Instagram!