Cherry Vanilla Cookies

These Cherry Vanilla Cookies are a scrumptious twist on a classic chocolate chip cookie recipe. Creamy, smooth white chocolate chips complement tart cherry bits, all wrapped up in a buttery cookie dough that is so yummy! I hate to admit this, but I am a huge cookie snob! I won’t eat any store bought cookies or any cookie that even looks like it was overbaked in the slightest. I’m not proud of it, but hey – we all have our flaws. However, this snobbery has made me work hard on coming up with perfect, and I mean perfect cookie recipes. These cherry vanilla cookies are darn near perfection, and I can’t wait for you to try them!

Suggestions for Perfectly Baked Cookies

Before mixing your dough, make sure that your butter is a room temperature. You should be able to make a slight dent in the butter with your finger. Believe me, the temperature of your butter really affects the way your cookies bake.One of the biggest secrets to soft and chewy cookies, especially these delightful vanilla cookies, is the baking time. I always bake my cookies for about nine to eleven minutes, just until the bottom of the cookie is ever so slightly golden.Then I take them out and let them cook on the cookie sheet on top of the stove for another two minutes or so.Once they’re cooled slightly, I put them on a wire rack to finish cooling to room temperature. (or I eat a few while they’re still warm and gooey!)Store fresh cookies in an air tight container on the counter for up to a week.You can freeze these cookies too! They keep in the freezer for weeks, and you can pull them out whenever you need a little treat (just let them thaw on the counter for a few minutes)You can also freeze the dough, tightly covered in plastic wrap. When you want to bake some fresh vanilla cookies, just unwrap the dough and let it thaw for a few minutes.

Substitutions/Additions for Cherry Vanilla Cookies

This is a basic cookie dough that can be changed up a million different ways.

I love the nutty flavor of almond extract but you can leave it out if you choose.Or swap out the almond extract for other flavors: coconut, peppermint, just about anything!If you can’t find dried cherry bits you can chop up some craisins and add them to the dough. So good!Vanilla chips or white chocolate chips work well in this recipe. But if you like the combination of chocolate and cherry, just use semi-sweet chocolate chips and keep the cherry bits.Add chopped pecans, walnuts or almonds to the dough for extra texture and flavor.

Because I’m such a cookie snob, I make sure our recipes are soft, chewy and delicious! Try some of our favorite family cookie recipes:

Turtle CookiesPeanut Butter CookiesMonster CookiesChewy Pecan CookiesReese’s Pieces CookiesCoconut Butterscotch Chocolate Chip Cookies

How to Make Cherry Vanilla Cookies

Share It on Instagram!