Chicken Coconut Korma

My cousin’s wife, Kristen, made this Chicken Coconut Korma for us when we were living in California and my husband and I were both crazy about it. They were really the first to introduce us to Indian food and now it is something we get ALL THE TIME. Because we fell head over heels in love. In fact, shortly after that we had Indian neighbors move in to the apartment next door and I could always smell the yummy spices of the food she was making. I wanted to invite myself over for dinner every day. I miss the delicious smells from that time. Our good friend, Meena, is also from India. She is an incredible cook. She introduced us to real Indian food, with fresh, authentic ingredients. So much better then any food I have had at an Indian restaurant. She would go to India and bring back spices with her because they were so much better over there than anything we have in America. She gave me a little bag of her spice mix and I still have some. I only use it for special occasions and sometimes I sneak into my cupboard and open the bag just to breathe in the incredible scent.

The Difference Between Korma and Curry

Korma is a type of curry. Its origins are in Southern India. Korma is known for its mild flavor and creamier texture, which comes from the use of yogurt in the sauce. The use of coriander is not unique to Korma over other curries, but is one of the spices always used to make Korma.

More Indian Recipes

A few months back I posted a recipe for a tasty Indian dish called Chicken Tikka Masala, which is also to die for, after that I received a lot of requests for the recipe for Chicken Coconut Korma. After much ado, here it is, and believe me when I say it was worth the wait. This dish is so yummy! Many thanks again to Kristen for both these recipes! Here are some more favorites:

Chicken Coconut CurryMulligatawnyChicken Massaman CurryCurried Garbanzo Beans (Indian side dish)

Share It on Instagram!