Chicken Gyro with Tzatziki Sauce – Two Ways

This Chicken Gyro Recipe is one of my favorites. I love to make it when I’m in the mood for something Mediterranean. It’s healthy, vibrantly colored and surprisingly filling. You’ll love the seasoned chicken combined with all kinds of fresh ingredients and toppings and folded into warm pita or flatbread. It is a delicious alternative to boring sandwiches. We’ll show you two ways to make these absolutely delicious chicken gyros – the grill and the crockpot. I cook my chicken breasts or chicken thighs in the crockpot when I want to prep everything in the morning. If I don’t have things together earlier in the day, the grill is a great option as well. Either method is going to give you a flavorful, filling, healthy meal that the whole family will love.

What is a Gyro?

Traditionally, you make this popular Mediterranean sandwich using lamb, beef or pork. Then you top it with tomatoes, onions and a yogurt-based dressing on pita or flatbread. Greek-American gyros are made from a large piece of seasoned minced lamb and beef, cooked on a rotisserie. The word ‘gyro’ comes from the Greek word for ‘circle’ or ‘turn’, which references the round rotisserie. I myself don’t know how to make the Greek-style lamb, so this is a recipe for chicken gyros.

What is Tzatziki Sauce?

Basically, Tzatziki sauce is a yogurt based dressing flavored with fresh cucumbers. To the base you add garlic, salt, olive oil, lemon juice, dill and sometimes mint or parsley. For a chunkier sauce you can just whisk the ingredients with a spoon. However, if you want a smoother sauce, you can blend it in a food processor. It makes a delicious sauce not only for these chicken gyros, but for vegetables, chips, and pita bread. Of course you can buy Tzatziki sauce at the store, but homemade Tzatziki sauce is so much better!

Cooking Chicken for Gyros in the Crock Pot

If  What better way to make these nice and tender than to throw them in the crock pot? I wasn’t quite sure how they would turn out but they were AWESOME. The chicken was perfectly moist and the flavor was infused throughout. Prep time is hardly anything and the Crock Pot does most of the work. I have tried this recipe on low and high in the crock pot and it definitely turned out a little more tender and moist on low. So, if you have the time to let it cook on low, that is ideal. Because I have small kids at home so I made these “kid-friendly” for them by serving the chicken mixture over rice. The next day I shredded the chicken up. Then, I put it over the flatbread with the tomatoes, sprinkled some cheese over the top. Next I microwaved them for 30 seconds. I cut them into “pizza slices” and the kids devoured them! Read Next: Easy Lunch Ideas

More Delicious Greek Style Recipes

Make some of these Greek style recipes alongside your chicken gyros. Turn an ordinary night into a Mediterranean Feast!

How to Make a Chicken Gyro with Tzatziki Sauce

Mediterranean Flatbread Pizzas

Light Greek Pasta Salad

Copycat Skotidakis Jalapeno Greek Yogurt Dip

Mediterranean Bowls

Share It on Instagram!