Chicken Madeira – Cheesecake Factory Copycat

If you have ever been to Cheesecake Factory, you know that their menu is HUGE! I can never decide on what to get because everything looks so good. When I am completely indecisive my fall-back menu item of choice is the Chicken Madeira. When I had this recipe for the first time my thought was “I can duplicate this!” So a few days later I went home and tried. When I opened my cupboard I didn’t have any Madeira cooking wine on hand and I didn’t feel like going to the store to get some, so I improvised. The second time I made this recipe I did it with the Madeira wine and to be honest, I liked it better with my balsamic/beef broth creation better! Of course you can do it “right” and use wine instead of beef broth. It is completely up to you.

What is Madeira?

Madeira wine is a wine whose taste comes from the repeated reheating of the wine, creating a unique taste. It’s a fortified wine available in a variety of sweet styles. However, when it comes to this popular copycat Madeira Chicken recipe, there are options if you don’t happen to have any Madeira wine on hand. In the case of this recipe, the substitution is a beef broth and balsamic vinegar combination.

A chicken with any other name… still tastes great!

When I posted this recipe before (back in 2008) I actually named this dish “Balsamic Asparagus Chicken” but I decided to re-name it “Chicken Madeira” because that was the taste I was going for and what I was trying to duplicate (even though technically it doesn’t have any Madeira in it). You are going to love this recipe. It is so fancy looking, but actually REALLY easy to make! Guests will definitely be impressed!

More delicious chicken recipes

If you are craving even more amazing chicken dinners, check out this roundup list. Check out some of our favorites like Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole, Chicken Fried Chicken, Chicken Parmesan. Looking for even more? Try our list of The BEST Chicken Breast Recipes for ANY Night of the Week.

How to Make Chicken Madeira

Share It on Instagram!