Chicken Salad Sandwich Recipe

Breakfast and dinner get a lot of attention, but lunch can sometimes slip through the cracks. Check out some of our favorite salads, sandwiches, and wraps to spice up that middle meal! These Chicken Salad Sandwiches are always the star of the buffet when I am hosting a luncheon or a baby or bridal shower. The sweet, slightly savory sauce is mixed with tender chunks of chicken, sliced grapes, and cashews and is perfect served on croissants or rolls. This delicious chicken mixture can be made ahead of time and stored in the fridge until party time. I’ve also made these to take along on picnics, lake trips, and family reunions. It’s easy to make, looks beautiful and tastes absolutely delicious!

Methods for Preparing Chicken

There are a couple of easy methods to get perfectly cooked shredded chicken:

The one I like the best is using a slow cooker. When I need cooked chicken for a recipe, I place the chicken breasts in a slow cooker on high for 2 ½ to  3 hours with about a ½ cup of chicken broth per 3 chicken breasts. Sometimes I add seasonings depending on what type of recipe I am preparing. After it is no longer pink, I remove the chicken and shred it.Another method is to boil the chicken on the stovetop. Place the chicken in a saucepan and cover the chicken with water. Bring to a boil and then simmer until the chicken is no longer pink, about 15-20 minutes. Remove the chicken from the water and allow to cool, then shred the meat with two forks.If I’m really pressed for time, I use the Kirkland Signature brand canned chicken from Costco or I buy a rotisserie chicken and remove the meat from the chicken and shred it. All of these methods work well for the chicken salad filling.

How to Make Shredded Chicken in the Instant Pot

My favorite way to make shredded chicken is in the Instant Pot (aka pressure cooker). I love it because it’s fast, it cooks evenly, and the chicken comes out perfectly shreddable every time. I also love that you can cook the chicken from frozen (which is not recommended in a slow cooker). Shredded chicken in the Instant Pot couldn’t be easier, here’s what to do:

Place chicken in the Instant PotAdd water, seasonings and a little butter (butter optional but highly recommended)Seal and cook on high pressure for 20 minutes (30 minutes if cooking from frozen) then quick release.Remove chicken and shred

For a full guide to shredding chicken click HERE.

What to Serve with Chicken Salad Sandwiches

Serve this chicken salad recipe on croissants, rolls, or bread slices. You can also use tortillas to make a wrap, pita pockets, or just plain over a bed of lettuce. If you want to make it a meal, I like to serve it with a side of fruit or potato chips.

FAQ

Read Next: Easy Lunch Ideas

More Yummy Sandwich Recipes

How to Make Classic Chicken Salad Sandwiches

Egg Salad Sandwich

Turkey Sandwich with Brie

Classic Cobb Salad

Gourmet Steak Sandwich

Share It on Instagram!