Chipotle Tacos

We first fell in love with Chipotle while we were living in California. I’m not kidding when I say we tried pretty much everything on the menu, but the one thing we went back for again and again? The crispy Chipotle tacos. When we moved to Boise, we were so sad not to have one in the area. I’m happy to report we now have several in the area. I actually have a scar from the first restaurant that opened here. I’ll spare you the details but it involved me locking my keys and phone in my car and running back into the restaurant way too fast in flip flops. 🙂 What can I say? I was distracted by the draw of those Chipotle tacos! These copycat Chipotle tacos are true to their namesake with a crispy shell, perfectly grilled and seasoned chicken, and corn salsa topped with cheese, sour cream and lettuce. To this day, I still order these tacos more than any other fast food item. The best part? You can make them at home!

Chipotle Copycat Recipe

There are several components that go into making the Chipotle tacos so good:

Crispy taco shells. You may be surprised to hear it, but the crispy taco shells are lower in calories than the soft tacos. Plus, they add a delicious crunch factor. They’re just plain fun!Grilled chicken. The soft, grilled chicken is the perfect counterpoint to the crispy shell. The chicken in the Chipotle tacos are expertly seasoned, so our copycat had to be as well. We use taco seasoning with a pinch of paprika to keep it tasty and simple.Corn salsa and pico. I’m pretty obsessed with the salsa offerings at Chipotle. It’s very similar to our fresh corn salsa, so we just use that to simplify things.Shredded cheese, lettuce, and sour cream. You can leave these off if you like, but they definitely add to the flavor profile.

Another fun thing about these tacos is how customizable they are. If you want to try a different salsa, or even make these with steak, go ahead! You can even experiment with different cheese options, but if you want copycat Chipotle tacos, I recommend sticking with the recipe.

Love Tacos? Here Are Some More Delicious Taco Recipes:

Grilled Mahi Mahi TacosNavajo Tacos with Homemade Fry BreadEasy Shrimp Tacos with Homemade Slaw10-Minute Spicy Shrimp TacosLocos Tacos in a BagKalua Pork Tacos with Fresh Mango SalsaGrilled Chicken Tacos with BaconGrilled Steak Street TacosThai Fish Tacos

How to Make Chipotle Tacos

Share It on Instagram!