Chocolate Malt Cake

Oh boy…chocolate lovers, this one’s for YOU. This chocolate malt cake with chocolate malt icing is A-MAZ-ING. It’s embarrassing to admit, but I am drooling just thinking about it. This is a safe space, right? 🙂 In all seriousness, this is quite possibly one of the best chocolate cakes I have ever had (and I’ve made it my personal mission to try as many as possible!). I wish I could take the credit for this chocolate malt cake recipe, but alas, the glory belongs to my cousin Jill, who gave me this recipe a few years ago. If the images in this post are making your tummy growl, let me tell you that it tastes BETTER than it looks (seems impossible huh? But it’s true!). I made this for my hubby’s birthday and he absolutely loved it. He asked if he could have it for his birthday EVERY year…fine by me! Thank you so much, Jill! You are the cake QUEEN!

What is Malt?

Malt certainly has a distinct (and delicious taste) and this chocolate malt cake plays up the malt flavor in both the cake and the icing. If you’re curious what malt is, it’s a cereal grain that is dried in a special germinated method, called malting. Fascinating, right?

Tips for Slicing a Round Cake

The chocolate malt cake can easily feed 12 adults when sliced properly. This cake has two four layers of cake by using two cake pans. If you are anything like I used to be, the thought of slicing a round cake might make you a bit nervous. If so, don’t worry. You’ll be a cake-slicing pro in no time with this brilliant tip. Rather than cutting the cake into even triangle wedges (who can do that anyway?), slice the cake horizontally all the way across into half-inch slabs. From there, cut the slabs into even rectangles. It’s much easier to understand if you see a visual, so check out this post here.

More Chocolate Desserts to Enjoy

Chocolate Raspberry CakeEasy Molten Chocolate CakeRidiculously Delicious Chocolate CakeEasy Flourless Chocolate CakeDouble Chocolate Oreo Bundt Cake

How to Make Chocolate Malt Cake

Share It on Instagram!