Crockpot General Tso’s Chicken

I love this version of General Tso’s chicken. More times than not, General Tso’s chicken is what I will order at Chinese restaurants. It has a little more of a kick than sweet and sour chicken and I like the flavor better. Before this recipe I would always make our original recipe for General Tso‘s but ever since I came up with this Crockpot version, I haven’t gone back to the old one (the old one is equally delicious… this way is just a little easier). I came up with this crock-pot version the other day when I didn’t have a lot of time in the late-afternoon to prepare dinner. I made this during my kids’ nap time. This pairs great with our restaurant-style fried rice recipe!

If you say “Tso”

Sometimes the most difficult part of ordering food in an ethnic restaurant is pronouncing the names without sounding like an idiot. There are a lot of differing thoughts on the pronunciation of this favorite Chinese food dish in America. According to SpoonUniversity.com, it is perfectly acceptable to pronounce it “so” — just omit the “T.” But according to my husband, Jared’s, experience working in a Chinese restaurant, it is more correctly pronounced “chow.” Either way, you are going to want to be eating this amazing General Tso’s Chicken while you think about saying the recipe name.

More recipes like Crockpot General Tso’s Chicken

If you like the ease of Crockpot cooking, or the flavor of Chinese food, check out some of these recipes below:

Chinese BBQ Pork (Char Siu)Crock Pot Cashew ChickenCoconut Curry Chicken with PeanutsSesame Chicken Stir Fry

  Share It on Instagram!