Easy Breakfast Casserole

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and this breakfast bake makes it even better! You start off with simple ingredients like eggs, hash browns, and cheese. After that, you can dress this casserole a million different ways. Add different meats and veggies to create a fun morning meal your whole family will enjoy. If you are a fan of breakfast for dinner, this casserole tastes great for dinner! It is warm, filling, and nutritious.

Tips For Baking Breakfast Casserole

First things first, make sure you spray your baking dish with cooking spray. The eggs will stick to the bottom if you don’t. In my oven, this bakes up in about 50-60 minutes, but it may vary slightly in other kitchens. If you see that the edges are browning faster than the middle, you can add some tin foil around the edges to keep it from burning. Another way to avoid burning is to turn down the temperature of the oven and allow the casserole to cook a little longer. Cover and refrigerate any leftovers. They heat up great in the microwave! This recipe is so versatile. Here are some more tips to customize it or make it even easier:

Breakfast casserole in a slow cooker

If you don’t have time to bake this in the morning, try our Slow Cooker Breakfast Casserole. You can throw in the ingredients the night before, and in the morning you’ll wake up to a delicious, fully-cooked meal! Plus, you don’t have to heat up your house with the oven.

Make ahead breakfast casserole

You can easily turn this into a make-ahead breakfast casserole. You can make it the day before and refrigerate, or freeze it and make it anytime.

Day ahead breakfast casserole

Save some time in the morning by making up this casserole the day before you plan to serve it. Follow the first 3 steps in the instructions, then cover the baking dish with plastic wrap and refrigerate. Remove the casserole from the fridge 30 minutes before baking, then bake for an hour or until a toothpick or knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Freezer breakfast casserole

To freeze, follow all the directions in the recipe below, and then cover the cooled casserole tightly with a layer of plastic wrap, then a layer of aluminum foil to prevent freezer burn. Store in the freezer for up to 2 months. To cook from frozen, thaw it in the refrigerator overnight, then bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until heated through. There’s something so comforting about knowing there’s a delicious breakfast option in the freezer, just waiting to be heated and served.

Substitutions for this recipe

Potatoes: I like to use frozen hash browns, but you can use any type of potatoes. Sometimes if I don’t want to cook my own vegetables, I will use the Potatoes O’Brien mix with peppers and onions. You can also use fresh potatoes, just make sure to slice or dice them thinly so they cook in the right amount of time. Veggies: My favorite veggie combo in this easy breakfast casserole recipe is red pepper and onion. However, I’ve used many other combos when I don’t have those on hand. I’ve used broccoli and tomatoes, zucchini and peppers, spinach and mushrooms, or just whatever I have in the fridge. If you use spinach and onion, try using mozzarella or Swiss cheese instead of cheddar – so yummy! Meat: Any breakfast meat tastes great in this breakfast casserole recipe. I like using maple-flavored sausage, but sometimes I use the spicy kind to kick things up a notch. You can also use bacon, ham, chorizo, or no meat at all for a vegetarian option.

Feeding a Crowd

When I have company, this is my go-to breakfast casserole recipe. It is easy to put together, and you can customize it to fit even the pickiest of eaters. This recipe makes 12 large servings, or 15 regular servings. However, I can fit two 9×13 pans in my oven so I can double the recipe and feed up to 30 people! I just make sure to switch the baking pans halfway through, one on the top and one on the bottom. I like to pre-cut slices in the pan to make sure everyone gets a piece.

What to Serve with Breakfast Casserole

If we are just eating this at home on a normal morning, I serve this casserole by itself or maybe with some fresh fruit. My kids like to top it with ketchup, and my husband and I usually top it with sour cream and salsa. However, if I am feeding a larger group or a very ravenous group, I will make a sweet breakfast item to round out the meal. Some of my favorites are Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins, Lemon Poppyseed Muffins, and Caramel Monkey Bread. READ NEXT: 33+ Super Easy Breakfast Ideas

More Breakfast Recipes

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, right? Whether it’s sweet or savory you crave, start your morning with one of our favorite recipes!

How to Make Easy Breakfast Casserole

California Breakfast Casserole

Yogurt Pancakes with Homemade Syrup

Breakfast Burritos

Peaches and Cream Oatmeal Smoothie

Share It on Instagram!