Chicken Cacciatore

I love saying “Chicken Cacciatore”… it sounds so fancy! Cacciatore actually means “hunter” in Italian. In cuisine, alla cacciatora refers to a meal prepared “hunter-style” with tomatoes, onions, herbs, often bell pepper, and sometimes wine (thank you Wikipedia). So basically, it’s an Italian dish with nothing really all that fancy at all– but it still tastes incredible!

Simple Chicken Cacciatore Sauce

This is a super simple version of Chicken Cacciatore where you just use your favorite canned spaghetti sauce or marinara and add some peppers and onions. If you want to get fancy and use your own homemade marinara or spaghetti sauce, be my guest! I actually used my homemade canned spaghetti sauce in this recipe (click here) and OH. MY. It was delicious!

What to Serve This With

In the picture, it almost looks like it could be chicken Parmesan because I added a little mozzarella cheese to top it off (which is probably not traditional) but I couldn’t help myself! Some people serve Chicken Cacciatore with egg noodles, but when I was preparing this recipe I was in the mood for fettuccine noodles, so I used those instead. Of course, you don’t even need to serve this over pasta, you can serve it alongside some steamed veggies or roasted potatoes and it will still be great! Oh, and one more thing– chicken thighs are wonderful in this recipe because they are SO tender and delicious but chicken breasts will work fine too. Just do everything the same– maybe just cut each chicken breast in half so it doesn’t take as long to cook through. Enjoy!

More Delicious Italian Recipes

Italian Stuffed Pork TenderloinBaked Rotini with Italian SausageAuthentic Italian SpaghettiCreamy Italian Sausage ChiliItalian Beef SandwichEasy Cheesy ManicottiQuick and Easy Calzones

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

Share It on Instagram!