Lemon Blueberry Scones

I always read about people having tea and scones in books. However, I have never tried a scone…until this week! Naturally, I decided to see what all the hype was about. Now I can honestly say they live up to the hype! They are soft and fluffy on the inside with a little bit of crispness on the outside. Plus, I loved the juicy bites of blueberry and the tangy lemon glaze. Now all I want to do is throw a fancy tea party!

What is a Scone?

Scones are small, triangle shaped baked goods. They originated in the United Kingdom and are typically eaten at tea time. However, in America, scones are served for breakfast or brunch. They can be sweet or savory. Unlike other tea cakes, you make scones with baking powder instead of yeast. Scones are usually served with butter or cream and jam. However, in my case, I added the lemon glaze on top.

Tips for Baking

These Lemon Blueberry Scones are really easy to make. That being said, I do have a couple of tips that will help make your baking experience even better! First, make sure that your butter is really cold, otherwise the texture will be wrong. I suggest putting it the freezer for about 10 minutes before you start preparing the scones. Next, instead of cutting the butter into pieces, I suggest using a cheese grater. This makes the butter so much easier to work into the dough. Finally, make sure the scones are at least one inch apart on the baking sheet. They grow a lot! READ NEXT: 33+ Super Easy Breakfast Ideas

Other Breakfast and Brunch Recipes You Will Love

Blueberry Coffee Cake

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Monte Cristo Breakfast Sandwich

California Breakfast Casserole

Share It on Instagram!