Homemade Veggie Burger

Lately, I have been on a veggie burger kick. Don’t ask me why—I just think they taste so good! Don’t get me wrong, I love me a good, juicy burger, but sometimes I like to keep things lighter. Unlike many veggie burgers out there, this one actually tastes delicious. Plus, these burgers have lots of veggies hidden in them (hence the name). The fun thing is, your kids won’t even know they are eating vegetables. I am telling you.. these are delicious! Even my anti-veggie-anything husband likes them (and that really is saying something).

What’s in a Veggie Burger?

Since there are so many fresh ingredients in this homemade veggie burger recipe (and a lot of chopping involved), I like to at least triple the recipe and freeze the patties to use for a quick meal later on (I put each patty between wax paper and put 2-3 in a tightly sealed Ziploc bag). The other thing I like about this recipe is that it is extremely versatile. You can switch things out pretty easily if you don’t like a certain ingredient or you don’t have one on hand. You can also add more ingredients like corn, zucchini, any kind of bell pepper, broccoli, cauliflower, brown rice, or even quinoa! So many possibilities here.

How to Make Veggie Meatballs

Another option is to take this homemade veggie burger recipe and turn it into veggie “meatballs”. Oh my goodness they are so stinking good. Just make the recipe as usual but instead of making patties, roll into meatballs and refrigerate (or freeze).Place them on a non-stick baking mat (or a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray) and bake at 350 for about 10 minutes. Super easy and a great, healthy alternative to your standard meatballs!

Add a Kick to Your Veggie Burger

My very favorite way to have these homemade veggie burgers is with a little homemade Sriracha mayo and a few jalapenos. I don’t know what it is but that combo makes it seem extra “burger-like” to me. It makes it seem meatier, but that’s just me.With one of my frozen patties, I thawed it out and marinated it in a little teriyaki sauce and added a slice of grilled pinapple. SO GOOD!!! Since it is a veggie burger I feel a little less guilty adding things like extra cheese or even bacon (I know, bacon, right? Defeats the purpose of a “veggie” burger…but still…). Seriously, do what you like. Be creative! Dress this homemade veggie burger up just like you would a regular burger.

More Grilling Recipes:

Blue Cheese Burger with BaconSalmon BurgersGrilled Pork Loin and Apple BurgersBlue Cheese Smoked Brisket Burgers

Share It on Instagram!