What is Spam Musubi?

Now, you may be wondering what Musubi is. You also may be asking yourself why I want you to try Spam. Well, a little history, Spam became increasingly popular in Hawaii after WWII, it was sent to the troops stationed in Hawaii and kind of spread from there. It was cheap. It was easy to cook. And it still is! It is actually still one of the staple foods there today. It is so famous that even McDonald’s Hawaii breakfast platters includes Spam.

What is Spam?

Spam is a canned meat made mostly with ham. When I lived in Hawaii, I had Spam all the time, mainly because it was pretty much all I could afford. I had it for breakfast with eggs and rice and dinner with noodles and rice. And for lunch, I made this Spam Musubi. You can buy Spam Musubi in Hawaii at any grocery store or gas station. On the mainland, it is available in most grocery stores where you buy canned meats. You may be skeptical (I know Spam has a bit of a reputation), I was too until I tried it. Even if you aren’t the biggest fan of Spam, this is worth a try! I made it for some of my family members last week and they all were pleasantly surprised by how good it was. Think of it as a Hawaiian hot dog, really, it’s good! Don’t knock it ’til you try it!

Make your own Musubi mold

Read Next: Easy Lunch Ideas

More Tasty Authentic Hawaiian Recipes:

How to Make a Hawaiian Plate Lunch (or Mixed Plate)

Hawaiian Style Chicken Long Rice

Authentic Hawaiian Macaroni Salad

Hawaiian Guava Cake

Share It on Instagram!