The Perfect Tuna Melt

Though this recipe is easy, it is definitely not your average tuna melt. Think of this as more of a “grown up” tuna melt. Years ago, I tried a tuna melt at a local Boise restaurant called Bardenay and I was blown away with how good it was! I immediately went home and added it to our usual sandwich rotation. Even my kids are crazy about these cheesy tuna melts!

What kind of tuna is best?

Albacore tuna, hands-down. The cheap 50-cent cans of tuna won’t cut it if you are wanting to make a GOOD tuna melt. I love using Albacore tuna because it has a mild, fresh taste. You can find a great canned Albacore tuna at Costco. It is a bit more expensive than other canned tuna but it is worth it.

Add A Little of This, or That

If you want to add a little CRUNCH, try adding some chopped celery, pickles, and/or onion. This is a total personal preference. I have tried many different kinds of tuna melts and for me, personally, I like it best without the crunchiness of celery in a tuna melt. Leave us a comment below and tell us which you prefer: crunchy or plain? I like to keep my tuna melts simple. I like tuna, cheese, and fresh garden tomatoes. If you are feeling adventurous, you could always try avocado, pickles, sauerkraut, spouts, or even boiled egg. There are many different kind of cheese that go well with tuna melts. I usually like to make it with 2 different cheeses when they are available. My favorite combination is provolone and extra sharp cheddar. Other great cheeses to use are Swiss cheese, Havarti, Mozzarella, Colby Jack, Cheddar Jack, Monterey Jack, or Pepper Jack. All of these cheeses melt great and will give you that good “cheese pull”.

Can You Hold the Mayo?

If you aren’t a big fan of mayonnaise, you can always replace the mayo with plain Greek yogurt. This also makes the sanwich a little healthier. You can also use Miracle Whip or even cream cheese.

How to Make the Perfect Tuna Melt Recipe:

First, you make the tuna mixture and spread it on a slice of bread. Then you add some tomato and salt and pepper. Then add your favorite cheese. In this picture I used 2 slices of Provolone but usually I like to switch it up and use a slice of Provolone and a slice of sharp cheddar. YUM.Then cook on both sides until bread is golden brown and cheese is melted. Perfection. Read Next: Easy Lunch Ideas

Soup on the Side

There is something so comforting about a sandwich served on the side of some yummy soup. If you want to round out this meal, try serving it with some Creamy Tomato and  Basil Soup, or this delicious Muligatawny Soup.

How To Make the Perfect Tuna Melt

Share It on Instagram!