Instant Pot Mashed Potatoes

I love finding new things to cook in my Instant Pot, and these mashed potatoes are no exception. It is such an easy recipe. You can seriously drop the potatoes and water in the pot and forget about it until the timer goes off. I especially like this method because it frees up your stovetop for other things. On big holidays like Thanksgiving I need all the stovetop space I can get.

What Kind of Potatoes Should I Use?

For mashed potatoes, we always use Russet potatoes. They hold up really well while they cook, and then they mash perfectly. Then there’s the other big question – to peel or not to peel? For this recipe I decided to peel them, just because that is how my family prefers them. I don’t think the peels would make a difference in the Instant Pot. Let us know if you try it!

Ideas for Serving

These mashed potatoes are so creamy and delicious that you could almost eat them plain, right out of the bowl. However, if you’re like our family, you will want to smother your mashed potatoes with gravy. Try our Turkey Gravy, Beef Gravy, or Chicken Gravy. These mashed potatoes would also be great as a base for our Loaded Mashed Potatoes. Read Next: 27 BEST Instant Pot Recipes

Main Dishes That Pair Perfectly with Mashed Potatoes

Even though I do LOVE mashed potatoes and would totally eat them as a meal, you probably need a main dish to go with them. Try some of our favorites!

Instant Pot Pork Chops and Gravy

Chicken Parmesan

Roast Turkey Breast with Lemon Rosemary Gravy

Oven Fried Chicken

Share It on Instagram!