I try to feed my family a few dishes I know they will like each week, combined with a few new items I hope they will try. I’m a big believer in food love by association. So far, this approach has worked for me. I’ve also never let “no” stop me from serving a certain meal or vegetable for the second, third or thirtieth time. Sometimes kids don’t like the texture of something or the temperature of the dish or some other random thing known only to them. It doesn’t mean they don’t like the actual food – or that they won’t start to love it eventually. Blueberries were one of my son’s first foods. He’d eaten them regularly until the age of five, when suddenly he decided he couldn’t stand the sight of them. Then, during the summer of his 8th year, he loved them again and couldn’t get enough. These mysteries of childhood are not for me to understand. I try not to make too much of a fuss about what they eat, and I don’t force them to clean their plates. I figure it’s my job to serve them healthy food, and it’s their job to decide if they want to eat it. If they refuse, I always have lots of chopped up fresh vegetables in the fridge. They are welcome to eat a bowl of cauliflower! While it’s frustrating when kids (or adults) don’t eat what they are served, I understand that sometimes we just aren’t in the mood for what’s in front of us. This week’s meal plan offers a little something for everyone, even the pickiest among us.

Meal Plan for December Week 2

1 Pan-Seared Salmon with Avocado Remoulade: Fish is a quick and healthy weeknight meal. This dish is bright and cheery, especially with some Cilantro Lime Rice on the side. What better way to start off the week! 2 Pasta with Roasted Cauliflower and Prosciutto: Comfort food with a hefty dose of vegetables. 3 Steak Salad with Miso Vinaigrette: Protein and vegetables all in one quick and easy meal. 4 Chicken Piccata: This classic dish is an oldie but a goodie. Pair this fast weeknight meal with roasted sprouts and shallots for robust and elegant family dinner. 5 One Pot Chicken and Orzo: You had me at one pot. Bonus Gift Wrapping Cocktail of the Week: Blood Orange French 75 Cocktail: Tis the season for citrus!