This is the only peeler I use. I even gave a bunch to my family members as stocking stuffers one year! Here’s why the Kuhn Rikon peeler tops my list of all-time best peelers:

The blade is made of carbon steel, which is why it’s so sharp and stays sharp.It glides over vegetables and removes peels with barely any effort. Unlike other peelers, where I felt like I had to hack at the vegetable repeatedly, with the Kuhn Rikon peeler I just flick, flick, flick, flick, done.I like that it’s smaller and lighter than other peelers. It’s less fatiguing on my hands if I’m trying to peel my way through a pot of potatoes or a big bunch of carrots.

But note! This peeler is not dishwasher-safe. The carbon steel blade will rust if left in water. This is the biggest complaint I’ve heard about with this peeler – people saying it rusted right away. In my experience, as long as you keep the peeler dry, you won’t have that issue. When I’m done using it, I rinse it off, dry it immediately, and put it away. I have a few of these peelers and so far I haven’t had any issues with rusting. My favorite peeler, hands down.