How to Can Salsa

I was so excited to go out to my garden last week and find loads of ripe tomatoes, onions, and peppers. I knew immediately it was time to make some salsa! This is Elise’s recipe and our family has been making it for YEARS. It is kind of a “cheater” recipe because we use a seasoning packet– but it saves time and still tastes fresh and amazing. If you are new to canning, never fear! Check out this GREAT post about canning for beginners written by my good friend, Mel, over at Mel’s Kitchen Cafe. It’s a fantastic resource that will help you learn how to can correctly. She explains it FAR better than I ever could and goes through the whole process in detail for you.

How to Make The Salsa Spicy

This salsa recipe for canning is a recipe for the mild salsa. If you would like a spicier salsa, which is my personal preference, you can still make this. To amp up the spice, simply blend some Serrano peppers with the jalapenos, seeds removed (1-2 for medium spiciness, 3-4 for hot). Be sure to wear gloves when working with the peppers… just in case!

More Salsa Recipes:

This salsa recipe for canning is one we make after every tomato harvest. As we are HUGE salsa fans, we have a few more recipes to share that I think you’ll love.

Homemade Salsa with Fresh TomatoesTomatillo Salsa VerdeCranberry SalsaFresh Corn SalsaSavory Canned Salsa

Share It on Instagram!