Sweet and Spicy Pumpkin Seeds

The past few years I have been experimenting with pumpkin seeds to switch things up from regular roasted pumpkin seeds (which there’s nothing wrong with, sometimes it’s just fun to have some variety with Fall snacks). I have tried them savory, I have tried them sweet. I have tried them spicy… and finally I came up with a combination that is ALL THRE. Let me tell you, I found a WINNER! The blend of spices combined with the brown sugar and cinnamon is so yummy. The sweet really stands out and then gives way to the spicier flavors. They’re so addicting! Even my kids are crazy about them (which should tell you they really aren’t too spicy).

Don’t Throw Out Pumpkin Seeds!

I know, I know. It’s too easy to scoop out all the seeds along with the pumpkin gunk and throw it all out. But, don’t! These seeds are SO good! It’s such a fun tradition as well as a great teaching moment to make roasted pumpkin seeds with your kids. Plus, this recipe is incredibly easy, too!

Reviews From Our Readers

Don’t take my word for it! Here’s what a few of our readers had to say about these roasted pumpkin seeds: “These were delicious! I think they will be our new post pumpkin carving tradition. Thank you for perfecting the recipe.” – Jocelyn “These are the yummiest pumpkin seeds I have ever eaten! I left out the hot sauce so my kids would like them. I think I’d enjoy the extra heat, but my kids (and I) love them the way they are. The butter and sugars caramelize and make them extra crispy. Thanks for the amazing recipe!” – Kat

Are These Too Spicy?

These roasted pumpkin seeds have a bit of a kick to them, but not enough to deter kids. I made a batch a couple of days ago and my kids devoured them before I could take a picture! If you love REALLY spicy pumpkin seeds, you’ll want to add a shake or two of extra Tabasco sauce than the recipe calls for, as this version falls on the milder side.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

Roasting these little seeds is actually very easy! All you do is toss them in the spices you like (see our recipe card below for full details) then spread them out on a baking sheet. For this recipe, you’ll want to roast them low and slow, meaning only heat your oven to about 300 degrees, then roast them for about 45 minutes until they’re slightly golden brown and crispy. When just roasting pumpkin seeds with salt or other seasonings you can turn up the heat and roast for less time like in this recipe here. However, since you have sugar in this recipe, you risk burning the sugar if you bake it too high.

How Can I Use Sweet and Spicy Pumpkin Seeds?

There are so many ways to enjoy these sweet and spicy seeds! They can even be added to our Halloween Candy Charcuterie Board or enjoyed along with our Pumpkin Spice Steamer Here are a few more ideas:

Place them out at a Halloween party for a snackThrow them on top of a saladAdd them to a grain bowlUse them on top of soupMake homemade trail mixLayer them on top of a hummus dipEnjoy them on their own!

More Pumpkin Recipes

… And Even More to Try!

3-ingredient pumpkin chocolate chip cookiespumpkin poke cakepumpkin Belgian wafflesharry potter pumpkin juice copycat recipepumpkin cobbler

How to Make Sweet and Spicy Pumpkin Seeds

Share It on Instagram!