Tea Sandwiches

Where we grew up, in Cedar City, UT, it seems there was never a baby shower, bridal shower, or wedding reception that didn’t have these tea sandwiches. I don’t know if it was just a Cedar City thing or if it was just the times, but we had these all. the. time. And not just any ribbon finger sandwiches — these EXACT ones. The ones with a layer of deviled ham and a layer of Cheese Whiz (I know it sounds weird, but stick with me here). A couple of weeks ago, our nephew had his wedding reception in Cedar City and they served these as one of the appetizers. Of course, a flood of memories came rushing back and I wondered why I have never had these little sandwiches outside of our hometown. In fact, whenever I have mentioned them to others since, they look at me like they have no idea what I am talking about; which is a shame because I think they are so cute!

A Tea Sandwich By Any Other Name…

Perhaps you’ve heard of these sandwiches by one of their other names. Ribbon Sandwiches or Finger Sandwiches. No matter what you call them, they are a fun, versatile option to consider next time you’re in charge of the party food.

Perfect for Parties of Every Size

A few days ago I decided to do a tea party with my kids and made these as one of the finger foods. They were a HUGE hit with my little girls (my husband helped himself to a few and was pleasantly surprised how good were). They are just so dainty and are perfect for little tea parties (or showers, birthdays.. etc..) plus, they are SUPER easy to make. I actually called the bakery in Cedar City to see how they make them and they told me exactly how they do it. I know the Cheese Whiz sounds strange but it holds the sandwich together better than any other cheese. Cream cheese will rip the delicate bread apart and other cheeses won’t hold the bread together and will make it hard to cut (as explained to me by the bakery workers).

Try a Little Variety

You can make a variety of sandwiches as well using egg salad, chicken salad, or tuna as layers, just make sure you chop or process the ingredients up enough so it spreads easily. As a quick added note: usually when I have had these in the past (and how the bakery still does them), the layers of bread are colored either pink, white, and green or pink, white, and orange, but obviously they all taste exactly the same. I stuck with all white bread for the sake of ease but by all means if you want to go all out, make your own bread and dye them different colors!

Storing Suggestions

These can be served immediately but in my opinion they taste best when refrigerated at least 3-4 hours. They will easily keep if made a day ahead of time. Makes 24 servings (2 finger sandwiches per serving). Read Next: Easy Lunch Ideas

More Finger Food Recipes

There’s something so fun about a variety of finger foods at any social function. If you want to mix things up at your next event, try these Ham Roll Ups with Pickle and Phyllo Cups with Fruit at your next party. Or if you want a tray of all kinds of finger foods, a Charcuterie Board is the way to go.

How To Make Tea Sandwiches

Ham Roll Ups with Pickle

Easy Phyllo Cups with Fruit

Making A Perfect Charcuterie Board: Step-By-Step Guide (+ pics)

Share It on Instagram!