Twice Chocolate Torte

Twice Chocolate Torte is a true family favorite! The recipe has been in the Blickenstaff family for years. When I was engaged, my future mother-in-law gave me the best gift ever – a recipe book with all of her tried and true recipes written in beautiful handwriting on 3 x 5 cards. She was a talented cook and I have loved those recipes! This Twice Chocolate Torte was the first recipe I tried because I knew my husband loved it so much.

What is a Torte?

Some people think that cake and torte are interchangeable but there are a few differences! The name comes from the German word “torte”, which means cake. Tortes usually have thinly sliced layers of cake sandwiching layers of filling like buttercream, mousse, or fruit. Tortes are almost always round and they always have toppings, like the shaved chocolate you see in the picture. They can also be topped with glazes, nuts, and fruits!

Chocolate Fudge Topping

For my husband’s birthday my daughter offered to make him any cake he wanted. He chose this Twice Chocolate Torte. The original recipe called for “Hershey’s Syrup Chocolate Fudge Topping.”  Unfortunately, Hershey’s stopped making this particular sauce! So, I stopped making this torte for a while. However, we decided to try the regular Hershey’s Hot Fudge Topping as a substitute, and it worked great! My husband was thrilled to have his old favorite back. The torte brought back some really sweet memories. Food has a way of doing that for us.

Tips for Making Twice Chocolate Torte

Don’t skip the step of freezing the two round layers! It’s a bit of a trick to slice it evenly if you don’t. Be sure to use the longest serrated knife you have. Luckily, the cake is very forgiving. You can see from my photo that my layers are ~not perfect – and that’s ok. Trust me, this chocolate torte is so good no one is bringing a ruler to make sure the layers are all the same size. The only tool they are looking for is a fork. However, if you are a perfectionist or know a baker who is a perfectionist this Stainless Steel Cake Slicer would be the best tool for this torte. I don’t have one, but it’s on my list!

Other Cakes You’ll Love

Looking for more chocolate cake ideas? We’ve got you covered!

Chocolate Malt Cake with Chocolate Malt IcingEasy Chocolate Cake with Cherry ToppingRidiculously Delicious Chocolate CakeDouble Chocolate Oreo Bundt Cake

Share It on Instagram!